St Marys' Basilica - Our lady of the Assumption

St. Mary's Church is the oldest Roman Catholic church in the city of Secunderabad, Telangana State, India

Our Lady of the Assumption (The bodily taking up of the Virgin Mary into Heaven)

The Assumption of Mary into Heaven, often shortened to the Assumption and also known as the Feast of Saint Mary the Virgin, Mother of Our Lord Jesus Christ and the Falling Asleep of the Blessed Virgin Mary according to the beliefs of the Catholic Church.

Ambassador of Poland along with Pawan kalyan and his wife

Latest Events

Special Blessing Night Vigil - 27 Jan 2018
10:00PM - 05:00AM Read more


We invite you to join us in our Eucharistic celebration and be nourished by the grace of God. At its heart, the Eucharist is a sacrament of communion, bringing us closer to God and to our brother and sisters in the Body of Christ. If we live the fruits of the Eucharist in our daily lives, we will fill our families and our communities with the life-giving qualities that the Liturgy brings: hospitality, concern for the poor and vulnerable, self-offering, and thanksgiving.

Week Days Mass Services

  • 06.00 a.m. Holy Mass
  • 06.00 p.m. Holy Mass

Services For Children

  • 08.30 a.m. Children's Cathecism
  • 09.30 a.m. Holy Mass for Children

Parish Office Working Hours

  • Week Days: 09.30 a.m. - 01.00 p.m.
Know More

Sunday Mass Services

The Mass or Eucharistic Celebration is the central liturgical ritual in the Catholic Church where the Eucharist (Communion) is consecrated. The church describes the mass as "the source and summit of the Christian life".

The church teaches that through consecration by a priest the sacrificial bread and wine become the body and blood of Christ. The Catholic Church practises closed communion, with only baptised members in a state of grace ordinarily permitted to receive the Eucharist.

  • 06:00 am Holy Mass in Tamil
  • 07:00 am Holy Mass in English
  • 08:15 am Holy Mass in Telugu
  • 09:30 am Holy Mass in English
  • 11:30 am Holy Mass in English
  • 05:00 pm Holy Mass in English
  • 06:00 pm Holy Mass in English

Ministry Of Reconciliation

The Old Testament offers some examples of great people who were able to overcome conflict by reconciling themselves to others, to authority, and to God

  • 04.00 p.m - 06.00 p.m Saturday
Know More

Charismatic Praise And Worship

This great resource helps those looking to lead better Praise and Worship for their parish, prayer group or other ministry.

  • 06.00 pm - 08.30 p.m. on 1st friday by Rev.Fr.Benny(svd), Muthangi Team
Know More
Basilica of our Lady of the Assumption

St Mary's Basilica - Secunderabad

Basilica of our Lady of the Assumption

A BASILICA is a type of building, usually a Christian church, that is typically rectangular with a central nave and aisles, usually with a slightly raised platform and an apse at one or both ends.

St. Mary’s Basilica is an imposing landmark and a magnificent sight on Sarojini Devi Road, Secunderabad.

Formerly known as St. Mary's Cathedral, often lay people call it as St Mary's Church, while it was the principal Church of the Vicariate of Hyderabad.

One of the Oldest Roman Catholic Church and Famous Churches in Hyderabad and Secunderabad, as well as one of the biggest parishes in the ArchDiocese of Hyderabad.

The Parish consists of various linguistic groups such as Anglo Indian, Tamil, Telugu, English, Malayalam, Konkani with more than 4500+ Parishioners.

Helping the Christian Community and Serving the People by imparting the Word of the God

Help us to gather more volunteers for our mission

Our Parish Clergy

Canon Law indicates (canon 207) that "[b]y divine institution, there are among the Christian faithful in the Church sacred ministers who in law are also called clerics; the other members of the Christian faithful are called lay persons".

This distinction of a separate ministry was formed in the early times of Christianity;
One early source reflecting this distinction, with the three ranks or orders of Bishop, Priest and Deacon, is the writings of Saint Ignatius of Antioch.

Pope Francis

Pope Francis
Born : Jorge Mario Bergoglio

His Holiness - Head of Roman Catholic Church

Rev.Thumma Bala - Arch Bishop of Hyderabad

Rev.Thumma Bala

Archbishop of Hyderabad

Rector & Parish Priest - St Marys' Secunderabad

Fr.Yeruva Bala Showreddy

Rector & Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica

Assistant Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica

Fr.Prabhu Das Pidikirala

Assistant Parish Priest - St Marys' Basilica

Assistant Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica

Fr.Prabhu Das

Assistant Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica

Assistant Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica

Fr.John Paul

Assistant Parish Priest - St Mary’s Basilica